Writer’s Dreams – Writer’s Nightmares

I dream some weird stuff, some of which has been used in my writing over the years. A couple of months ago, for example, I dreamed of a trapdoor where beneath lay waiting evil. In the dream the image looked the trapdoor in Evil Dead with the scary demon cackling from it. But here was no demon, only a curse in the guise of a promise. I could not see it but I could hear it – the charlatan voice. The dream gave me ideas, now incorporated in my WIP.evil

Great!

Last week, this dream was short, a few seconds, a snapshot, of my hands holding open a client’s book (currently WIP). On the page a secret message was revealed, its potential for viral enormous. I told my client next morning. Watch this space.

Great!

But last night the dream was particularly scary; I was writing a new book with an infamous co-author: Peter Sutcliffe AKA the Yorkshire Ripper. He was fat, wrinkled, his eyes black and empty. Recalling the dream ran me cold.

Great?

Perhaps I should attempt channelling, I thought later, but then wasn’t Sutcliffe mates with Jimmy Saville? Last thing I want is a Saville-based nightmare. Do you have writerly dreams?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Yes! One of my short stories (I’d call it the second darkest in the collection) came to me whole and complete whilst asleep. All I had to do was write it down. Then spend another few weeks fretting over the title. Mr Sandman doesn’t do everything.

    Reply
    • That is simply brilliant. Which story was it? And do you think we can brain-train to cultivate the dream factory into churning out books/ideas/scenes?

      Reply
  2. louisewise

     /  January 9, 2014

    Yes, my dreams have ended up in books. Eden was a dream (my first sci-fi), but a dream that wakes me up thinking ‘that’ll be good’, is one I can never remember in the morning. Unlike Jill I’m too lazy to get up and write it down. I did keep a notebook beside my bed and scribble notes in the dark but could never read back what I’d written!

    But wouldn’t it be good if we could somehow channel our dreams so we could watch them back in the cold light of day? I bet there’s an app for it right now!

    Reply
  3. Funnily enough, the first “real” book I pubbed was based on dreams – the premise that dreams could tap into alternate realities, so they weren’t dreams at all…

    Reply
  1. Writer’s Dreams – Writer’s Nightmares | Louise Wise

Leave a Reply

