Editing seminar snapshots: negative criticism and author control

Editing – how to cope with criticism…

Nail Your Novel

image_00006smlThis week I’m running a series of the best discussion points from my talk at the Writers & Artists selfpublishing event. So far I’ve covered how producing a good book requires an editorial team and how authors need to allow enough time to use their feedback properly. Today, it’s how to cope with criticism.

5517930692_5a298aa44b_z

Editing – an ordeal or not?

Henry Hyde (who took the pic of me!) asked the very good question of how writers respond when they receive a report. He’s the editor of a magazine, and said that contributors are often aghast when their work is red-penned. So what the blazes does a writer make of a 40-page document of major changes (as I described in my previous post)?

Well, I try to be gentle. I also encourage the author to see the report as criticism of the work, not them – although…

View original post 447 more words

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Thanks for the reblog, John!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

