What do you do when your editor tells you your book just isn’t good enough?

“I’ve realised that stories have infinite versions, infinite possibilities, and that digging through the spectrum of possibilities is the key to great story.”

Siobhan Daiko

What do you do when your editor tells you your book just isn’t good enough?

Shell-shocked and emotional, I wept, tore at my hair and paced the floor. Husband patted my back and suggested I give it up as a bad job. “You are really good at writing historical fiction,” he said. “Maybe contemporary erotic romance isn’t the right genre for you…”

Blog pic 2

The only thing in life I’ve given up on, other than numerous diets, was riding horses, to my regret. I wasn’t about to give up on Three.

My editor John Hudspith’s advice was to dig deep for a better story, and then rewrite it. And that the secret to success was CONFLICT. My original narrative was too twee and my characters lacked depth. I needed to keep asking, “what if?” rather than letting them passively accept their situation. I needed to force my imagination out of its comfort zone…

View original post 626 more words

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

